Board of County Commissioners


  • 9 am
  • 2nd Thursday of every month
  • Grant County Administration Center
    1400 Highway 180 E
    Silver City, New Mexico 88061

The Board of Grant County Commissioners holds regular Board meetings on the second Thursday of the month. A work session is conducted on the Tuesday prior to each meeting date; no action is taken at this time.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Agendas for the meetings and work sessions are also available through the County Manager's Office, located at:

Grant County Administration Center
1400 Highway 180 E
Silver City, New Mexico 88061


  1. Chris Ponce

    Chris Ponce

    District 1 Commissioner

  1. Eloy Medina

    Eloy H. Medina

    District 2 Commissioner

  1. Alicia Edwards

    Alicia Edwards

    District 3 Commissioner

  1. Gerald W. "Billy" Billings Jr.

    Gerald W. “Billy” Billings, Jr.

    District 4 Commissioner

  1. Harry Browne

    Harry Browne

    District 5 Commissioner


Responsibilities of Grant County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the governing body of Grant County. Its duties, by state law, are both legislative and executive.

The Board is responsible for the overall management of the County government operations.

The Board appoints a County Manager, responsible for the day-to-day operations of the County.

The County Manager supervises the work of appointed department heads and is responsible for the appointment of non-elected department heads, with concurrence of the Board. In addition, the Board appoints all members of the many boards and committees that assist these programs.

The Board, whether directed by an elected or appointed official, sets all department budgets. A tax rate for all taxing entities in our County is set by and adopted by the Board of Grant County Commissioners. All purchases and sales of county property, construction of county facilities, awards of bids for services and supplies and the appointments of all county personnel are some of the duties that are within the responsibility of the Board of County Commissioners.

The electors of their respective commission districts elect the five Board members to a four-year term. The current Board of Commissioners maintains an open office policy and encourages public comment, suggestions, inquiries and attendance at all Board meetings. Minutes are taken and typed by the Grant County Clerk at all meetings, public hearings, and bids.

The Board of Grant County Commissioners must take all official actions during an open public meeting after being properly noticed on the agenda for the Board of Commissioners action.

The annual salary of a County Commissioner is $24,960, pursuant to NMSA 1978 Section 4-44-4.1.

Requirements to be a County Commissioner

  • Must be a United States Citizen
  • Must be at least eighteen years of age
  • Must be a registered voter
  • Must reside in the Commission District for which he/she is seeking election

Duties and other requirements to serve as commissioner are located in the New Mexico Statutes 1978, Article 38, 4-38- 1 through 4-38-42.

Past Videos

For historical videos, contact:

Ben Beltron
Executive Director
Community Access Television of Silver
Phone: 575-534-0130 
Email Ben Beltron

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6