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LOW INCOME VALUE FREEZE INSTRUCTIONS 

Property owners may qualify to have the value of their primary residence frozen in accordance with New Mexico 

Property Tax Code (7-36-21.3 NMSA).  This freeze, which is only applicable owner occupied, single-family 

dwellings, prohibits the increase of property valuation as a result of market changes.  However, value changes due 

to renovation or additional construction will still be applied.  In addition, tax rates may vary from year to year, 

resulting in changes to the owner’s tax liability.  

In order to qualify: 

• The property owner must be a New Mexico Resident.

• The property must be the primary residence and an owner-occupied, single-family dwelling.

• The property owner must be a minimum of 65 years old OR disabled.

• The property owner’s Modified Gross Income must be $40,400 or less for the 2022 tax year.  Modified

Gross Income means the total combined income of taxpayer and taxpayer’s spouse and dependents that

reside at residence. (NM Income Tax Act Section 7-2-2 L)

To Apply: 

• Please complete the Tax Year 2023 Application

• Please provide documents verifying the following:

o Age:  Copy of Photo ID showing date of birth

o Occupancy: Property must be owned by and be the primary residence of the applicant

o Identification of Property: Provide a physical address, legal description and account number

o Income of applicant, spouse, and dependents in residence:

▪ 2022 Federal 1040 US Tax Return

▪ 2022 NM State Income Tax Return

▪ 2022 NM State PIT-RC-NM Rebate and Credit Schedule

▪ Other documents as appropriate (e.g., IRS 1099, Social Security Benefits  Statement,

Supplemental Security Income Letter, Veteran’s benefit letter)

• Disabled applicants only: Provide documentation from the Social Security Office or Worker’s

Compensation Administration confirming disabled status.

Please note, the TY 2023 application is not available until January of 2023.  Each year, our office receives

a new application from the State of New Mexico.

This Valuation Freeze: 

• Is for the 2023 property tax year and based on 2022 income tax returns.

• Is a freeze on the valuation of the property.  It is not a freeze on the taxes.

• Is not automatically renewed.  You must apply and be approved for three consecutive years before the
freeze becomes permanent.

Once your application and related documents have been received, they will be reviewed and you will be notified 

of the outcome.   



County 
Name

Tax Year

Middle
Initial

City & State Zip Code

Date of 
Birth

PART I

A YES NO

B YES NO

C YES NO

D YES NO

Please see section 7-2-2 (L) of the Income Tax Act.

1 Compensation 1 .00
2 Net profit derived from business 2 .00
3 Gains derived from dealings in property 3 .00
4 Interest 4 .00
5 Net rents 5 .00
6 Royalties 6 .00
7 Dividends 7 .00
8 Alimony and separate maintenance payments 8 .00
9 Annuities 9 .00

10 Income from life insurance and endowment contracts 10 .00
11 Pensions 11 .00
12 Discharge of indebtedness 12 .00
13 Distributive share of partnership 13 .00
14 Income in respect of a decedent 14 .00
15 Income from an interest in an estate or trust 15 .00
16 Social Security benefits 16 .00
17 Unemployment compensation 17 .00
18 Workers' compensation benefits 18 .00
19 Public assistance and welfare benefits 19 .00
20 Cost-of living allowances 20 .00
21 Gifts 21 .00

      Total Modified Gross Income (Add lines 1 thru 21.) .00

PART III

PART IV YES NO

The records of Notice of Value

 Is the property occupied by the applicant and is he or she the current owner?

 Is the property the applicant's primary residence? 

STATE OF NEW MEXICO - 2023 TAX YEAR
APPLICATION-LIMITATION ON INCREASE IN 

VALUE FOR SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGS 
OCCUPIED BY LOW INCOME OWNERS 65 
YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER OR DISABLED

Application Form
Revised 11/07/22

Pursuant to 7-36-21.3 NMSA 
as Amended in 2020

INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE SIDE
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Applicant's First Name Last Name

Present Mailing Address ( Number & Street, 
P. O. Box or Rural Route )

Phone Number

Enter "Modified Gross Income", all income received by the applicant, applicant's spouse and dependents.

Gross Annual Income

( Round to nearest whole dollar amount.)

Driver's License or Personal ID 
Certificate ( Number & State )

Uniform Property 
Code (UPC)Physical Address / Legal Description of Property

Will the applicant be age 65 or over during the current tax year?

Is the applicant disabled?

I certify that I am the legal owner of this property, I am living on this property and the income, age or disability statements made are true and accurate.  I understand that false 
statements made intentionally on this application may be penalized as provided for in 7-38-92 and 7-38-93 of the Property Tax Code. 

PART II

CERTIFICATION BY PROPERTY OWNER - (To be signed by Applicant)

County indicate the property value is $ as of the Tax Year

Amended income tax returns shall be reported within 30 days of filing.

Applicant Signature: Date:

VALUATION LIMITATION
(To be completed by the County Assessor)

Date:Valuation Limitation Determined by:

County Assessor's 
Phone Number

Qualifies?



Eligibility Requirements:

The applicant should be prepared to provide evidence that he/she fulfills the age requirement

(2) OCCUPANCY: Applicant must be the owner and occupant of the property for which the application is being submitted.
The property listed on this application is eligible only if it is the primary residence of the applicant and does not apply to other
properties owned by the applicant.

(b)  Legal description
(c)  Uniform Property Code (UPC)

7-36-21.3. Limitation on increase in value for single-family dwellings occupied by low-income owners who are sixty-five 
years of age or older or disabled; requirements; penalties.

A. The valuation for property taxation purposes of a single-family dwelling owned and occupied by a person who is sixty-
five years of age or older or disabled and whose modified gross income for the prior taxable year did not exceed the 
greater of thirty five thousand ($35,000) or the amount calculated pursuant to Subsection F of this section shall not be 
greater than the assessed valuation of the property for property taxation purposes:

(1) for a person sixty-five years of age or older in the tax year in which the owner qualifies and files an application; or

(2) for a person who is disabled in the tax year in which the owner qualified and files an application for the limitation
provided by this section.

STATE OF NEW MEXICO - 2023 TAX YEAR

(3) DISABLED: Means a person who has been determined to be blind or permanently disabled with medical improvements
not expected pursuant to 42 USCA 421 for purposes of federal Social Security Act [42 USC § 301 et seq.] or is determined to
have a permanent total disability pursuant to the Workers’ Compensation Act [Chapter 52, Article 1 NMSA 1978].

(b)  The property must be the primary residence of the applicant.

by presenting a photo ID showing his/her date of birth.

(d)  Other property tax identification numbers or codes

**If not qualified: - Upon determination that the applicant does not qualify, the Assessor will immediately notify the
applicant in written form.

(Part IV) VALUATION LIMITATION:  (To be completed by the County Assessor) 

(a)  The applicant must be able to provide certified copies of relevant documents.

GENERAL – This application is for the current tax year only and is based on the previous year’s income. An owner who has
claimed and been allowed the limitation of value for the three previous consecutive tax years need not claim the limitation for
subsequent tax years if there is no change in eligibility.

(1) AGE: The applicant must be age 65 years or older, or disabled during the year in which the application is made.

(Part I) IDENTIFICATION OF REAL PROPERTY: One of the following should be provided to the assessor to identify the
property for which the application is submitted.

(Part II) INCOME: The previous year’s modified gross income must be $40,400 per year or less (below). The New Mexico
Income Tax Act (Section 7-2-2, L.) states modified gross income means all income, undiminished by losses from whatever
source derived.  This applies to the total combined income of the taxpayer and his/her spouse and dependents.

The applicant shall submit copies of state and federal income tax forms for the year prior to application or any other
documents that will provide evidence to the Assessor that the applicant fulfills the income requirements. Amended tax
returns should be reported to the assessor within 30 days of the reporting to the IRS or New Mexico Taxation & Revenue
Department.  Amended returns may affect your eligibility.

(a) Physical address of the property

(Part III) CERTIFICATION BY PROPERTY OWNER: (To be completed by Applicant)
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